Connect with us

Latest News

official: Erling Haaland Wins FWA Footballer of the Year 2023



IMG 1164

Manchester City’s Erling Haaland has been named the Football Writers’ Association (FWA) Footballer of the Year 2023, following an outstanding debut season at the club.

Haaland received over 80% of all votes cast in the 400-strong FWA membership poll, winning by the biggest margin since the Premier League began.


He follows in the footsteps of his club colleague Ruben Dias, who won the award in 2021, and former City star Raheem Sterling, who took the prize in 2019.

Haaland’s sensational debut season in England saw him score 51 goals for Manchester City, as they aim for a remarkable treble, and he won the award ahead of Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka, with Martin Odegaard, Kevin De Bruyne, and Marcus Rashford completing the top five.


Haaland is only the fourth player to receive the FWA award in their first season playing in England, following in the footsteps of Ruben Dias, Gianfranco Zola, and Jurgen Klinsmann.

In accepting the award, Haaland praised his team-mates and coach Pep Guardiola for helping him adapt seamlessly to life at City.


He also highlighted the major role they played in his success, saying, “I have loved my time at City so far – my teammates are incredible, and they provide me with the chances to score goals. I want to thank all of them, because I could not have won this award without them.”

Haaland has made a seismic impact since joining Manchester City from Borussia Dortmund last summer and has emerged as one of the central focal points of a supremely talented City squad that is seeking to claim a third successive Premier League title.


Additionally, they are through to a historic all-Manchester FA Cup final and set to face Real Madrid in the UEFA Champions League semi-final second leg.

The Norwegian international has cemented a special rapport with the Etihad fans while establishing a host of quite extraordinary goal-scoring records that have seen him constantly rewrite the history books. He broke Alan Shearer and Andrew Cole’s long-standing record of 34 goals in a single Premier League campaign, registering 35 goals from 34 league appearances.


He also broke the record for most strikes in one season in all competitions by a Premier League player, surpassing Mo Salah in 2017/18 and Ruud van Nistelrooy in 2002/03 who both claimed 44.

Haaland also became City’s all-time top scorer in a single season, breaking the long-standing record of 38 goals established by Tommy Johnson in the 1928-29 campaign.


Haaland’s commanding, athletic figure, supreme skill, prodigious strength, and superb vision have epitomized the collective hunger and desire that has characterised Pep Guardiola’s squad in what is shaping up to be another quite extraordinary campaign.

With the award, Haaland has cemented his status as one of the brightest young football superstars in the world.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *